Postcard Memories

For the past few years, Marcel Rouseau has been submitting a series called Postcard Memories to the Orillia Packet & Times newspaper. Each story shows a vintage postcard along with Marcel's well-researched and detailed story about the scene it depicts. Browse through for some fascinating reading, more will be added regularly.

In 1903 the Fader Screwless Door Knob Co. purchased land on Barrie Road to open a factory to manufacture locks, door knobs and builders hardware.

In 1956 Harry Dewey set up shop to manufacture and repair boats in the basement of a barn

The first world championship plowing contest was held near Cobourg Ontario in Oct. 1953.

One of the earliest harness makers in Orillia was Christopher Moore.

In June 1904, Mosses Boyd took over the Hoy Harness Business he had been managing for six years.

With the overwhelming sales success of the toy Shovel and Crane made in 1945, Otaco continued to design and manufacture metal toys including a ride on train, several trucks plus a small food mixer and mangle ironer for girls.

By 1945, with war production coming to an end, Otaco Ltd. on West Street South began producing metal toys to keep the plant busy.

T. B. Mitchell came to Canada in 1863.

The Orillia Dairy Co. started its operations in 1930 at the former Orillia Farm Dairy location at 177 Barrie Road.

The Heywood Wakefield Company of Massachusetts was a successful producer of wooden and rattan furniture in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

«StartPrev123NextEnd»
Page 1 of 3
Joomla Templates: by JoomlaShack